When things go wrong… and your plans go awry

Published September 2, 2012 by keya82

 

Last week was going well until Wednesday. On Wednesday I got news of trouble (I won’t go into details) and my mood and motivation spiraled into despair. Thursday brought even worse trouble. On these days I went to the pub and enjoyed 2-3 beers. Friday after work I was at the pub again and drank at least 7. All the beers are low carb but it’s a huge impact to my calories.

 

The biggest problem was not the drinking.. it was the motivation to stick to the plan. Instead of being committed and giving myself something to be proud of, I was demotivated, depressed and worried, using all my energy to focus on my troubles instead of using this energy to work out. Pounding the pavement may have actually brought perspective earlier too.

 

I suffer from depression anyway, and have found that exercise helps. I was in shock during those days (blow after blow) and I just couldn’t seem to do anything but feel sorry for myself.

 

Then today I burned 936 calories playing tennis and running. I also gave myself a talking to. I said; YOU DO NOT NEED TO FEEL SAD! You have the power choose your circumstances, and you don’t need to keep yourself in this situation. YOU DO NOT NEED TO FEEL ANGRY!! You know you have put your all into this job, and are committed daily to your staff and their development. Anyone who says otherwise is a BIG FAT LIAR. YOU DO NOT NEED TO BE SCARED!! What will happen, will happen whether or not you fear it.

 

I may have fallen off the wagon early, but I am back on it now, and have learned a valuable lesson. When life throws shit at you you can sit and let it hit you, or you can start running, and stay positive.

 

It’s funny how work can actually be one of the longest relationships you have ever had. This never ceases to amaze me, especially after being in the same workplace for over 9 years. Sometimes in life you may have issues in your social life, your work life, your inner self, your relationship, or your health. Sometimes a few of these may go wrong at the same time. Sometimes these things may all go wrong at once. But the best thing you can do is remember that you have choice and strength, then go for a run.

3 comments on “When things go wrong… and your plans go awry

  • Leave a comment